/ Refine Your Site Website design, management, and email marketing • 20+ years experience in IT • IT Advisory Chair for Oxford High School • In Oxford since 2003; wife & 2 kids
killer app • Time spent with email is up 17% year over year • The average click-through rate of email is ~3% Social media post click-through rate is ~0.5%
active users per month, and Twitter has roughly 319 million • Number of email accounts is 4.9 billion & projected to be 5.6 billion by 2019 • Social media posts get refreshed and are easily missed, but you have to open emails to read • You own your email list! You don’t own followers
month… • Say of that, 315 people opt-in to your email list… • And of those 315, 22 people buy something… • If your product or service is $160, that’s an extra $3,520 / month for very little effort (retail industry average conversion rate of 7%)
the right time • Location, Industry type, Past purchases, Demographics, are some examples of segments • Personalization increase chances of engagement (i.e. higher click-through rate)
up email service; integrate with website 3. Create email signup forms on your website 4. Write thank you email, link to lead magnet 5. Write series of emails for automated campaign
A potential sales contact • You want to attract them — a magnet • It can be anything relevant to your target market: - exclusive, educational content from your blog - eBook PDF - case study - guide or tool kit
when someone signs up • Link to lead magnet • Thank them, remind them what you offer • Tell them there’s more to come, but use unsubscribe links to build trust
at this point • Schedule emails to expand on lead magnet • Educate, build trust, over 5-email "sends" • Only pitch your product / service at the end, based on their engagement