How To Stay Up To Date on Web Technology

How To Stay Up To Date on Web Technology

And stuff!

8081b26e05bb4354f7d65ffc34cbbd67?s=128

Chris Coyier

December 12, 2012
Tweet

Transcript

  1. HOW TO STAY UP TO DATE O N W E

    B S T U F F
  2. CHRIS COYIER Digby &

  3. None
  4. None
  5. None
  6. How do you stay up to date on the latest

    web technology?
  7. UMMMMMMM #SHUFFLEFEET #VAGUEANSWER #MAKEFORTHEDOOR

  8. I should think about that and come up with a

    decent answer
  9. AlwaysReadTheManual.com Three beautiful, illustrated hardbound books a year, each holding

    six articles and six personal lessons that use the maturing of the discipline of web design as a starting point for deeper explorations of our work and who we are as designers.
  10. Tounge-Tied T R E N T W A L T

    O N
  11. “And what is it that you do?” “I’m a web

    designer.” “Oh, that’s nice.”
  12. DAMMIT. That didn’t go the way I wanted it to.

    Again.
  13. Once more, I’ve proven to be a poor representative of

    the industry I’m so proud to belong to.
  14. How do you stay up to date on the latest

    web technology?
  15. ONE QUESTION MANY SUBTEXTS

  16. 1 “Gimme Something Easy” S U B T E X

    T N U M B E R O N E
  17. OH HERE

  18. None
  19. It’s not that easy

  20. ER WAIT

  21. Web Design Weekly web-design-weekly.com

  22. CSS Weekly css-weekly.com

  23. Sidebar sidebar.io

  24. JavaScript Weekly javascriptweekly.com

  25. HTML5 Weekly html5-weekly.com

  26. RWD Weekly responsivedesignweekly.com

  27. Maybe it is that easy

  28. 2 “I’m worried about making bad decisions” S U B

    T E X T N U M B E R T W O
  29. I’m about to start a new project. I want to

    make smart decisions on what tech to use.
  30. Workflow Preprocessors Libraries Languages Frameworks Tools / Software

  31. None
  32. HAHA BUSINESS

  33. None
  34. Is the tech right for the project? Is it just

    short-term cool or long-term right? What is the fail cost?
  35. Will the team be into it? Can I hire people

    that know it? How big is the community around it?
  36. Watch the “Big” Players Look at Enormous GitHub Repos Be

    aware of tech you hear about over and over Look at Community Sizes Research Investment Costs Employ Good Decision Making
  37. 3 “I’m getting old.” S U B T E X

    T N U M B E R T H R E E
  38. None
  39. None
  40. None
  41. None
  42. None
  43. It might not be that you’re getting old. It might

    be that you’re getting bored.
  44. Find a way to get excited again. Or get out.

    #noshame
  45. Decisions, decisions.

  46. HOW TO MAKE A DECISION

  47. with Chris Coyier

  48. Get a good night’s sleep 1 O R T E

    N
  49. Clearly lay out all the options 2 O F T

    E N B O O L E A N
  50. Consider outcome of each of those choices 3 A L

    S O : I N T U I T I O N
  51. Pick the best one and do it 4 D O

    N ’ T B E A W I M P
  52. See how it goes 5 D R I N K

    goto(1);
  53. THE MOST IMPORTANT DECISIONS TRANSCEND TECH

  54. Who do you choose to work with? What is my

    attitude? What culture am I trying to cultivate?
  55. Am I letting UX drive choices? Am I building something

    people love? Am I writing things people want to read?
  56. DECISION MAKING AT WORK

  57. How should I go about hosting private video? Obscure Startups

  58. Should I start using icon fonts? Is single-color OK? Is

    performance better or worse? Will it speed up or slow down development? Can we deal with all accessibility concerns? Can I find ones that work for me? I can build my own? Do they look better to my audience?
  59. Should I use HTML5 form features? <input type=date> What is

    the browser support? Quirks to watch out for? What features do I need? What control do I have? What kind of fallback is acceptable?
  60. None
  61. Should we use Sass? What is the cost to switch?

    Can we get the whole team on board? What is the learning curve? What are other people saying/doing? What other benefits/effects does it have?
  62. What browsers should I support? Look at YOUR data What

    are trending indicating? What is the cost of support? What do you gain from that support? Do the math
  63. FILING AWAY NEW THINGS

  64. IcedCoffeeScript? WTF is IcedCoffeScript?

  65. None
  66. IcedCoffeeScript is a superset of CoffeeScript... it will interpret almost

    all existing CoffeeScript programs. IcedCoffeeScript (ICS) adds two new keywords: await and defer. parallelSearch = (keywords, cb) -> out = [] await for k,i in keywords search k, defer out[i] cb out
  67. How do you stay up to date on the latest

    web technology?
  68. What if you just stopped? Would it make that big

    of a difference?
  69. Stay as up to date as you need to

  70. Not out of compulsion

  71. None
  72. I BET if you stopped reading any dev tech news

    for a year, you could catch up in a week. Binge on some blogs. Go to a conference or two.
  73. THE BOSS SLIDES

  74. CSS-Tricks css-tricks.com Smashing Magazine smashingmagazine.com Cognition cognition.happycog.com NetTuts+ net.tutsplus.com Web

    Platform blog.webplatform.org CSS Wizardry csswizardry.com BRICSS bricss.net 24 Ways 24ways.org Codrops tympanus.com/codrops HTML5 Doctor html5doctor.com
  75. Paul Irish paulirish.com Jeremy Keith adactio.com Martin Wolf theamazingweb.net Ryan

    Seddon thecssninja.com Zoe Gillenwater zomigi.com Estelle Weyl estelle.github.com Nicolas Zakas nczonline.net Nicole Sullivan stubbornella.org Dave Rupert daverupert.com Rebecca Murphey blog.rebeccamurphey.com Tab Atkins xanthir.com Christian Heilman christianheilmann.com
  76. ShopTalk shoptalkshow.com The Web Ahead 5by5.tv/webahead Non Breaking Space nonbreakingspace.tv

    The Big Web Show 5by5.tv/bigwebshow Build Podcast build-podcast.com Rails Casts railscasts.com The Industry theindustry.cc This Developer’s Life thisdeveloperslife.com The East Wing theeastwing.net BizCraft unmatchedstyle.com/bizcraft
  77. Elijah Manor @elijahmanor Mike Taylor @miketaylr Ethan Marcotte @rwd David

    Walsh @davidwalshblog Jeff Starr @perishable Lea Verou @leaverou Divya Manian @divya Ben Alman @cowboy Scott Jehl @scottjehl Mat Marquis @wilto Simon @simurai Hakim El Hattab @hakimel
  78. Web Design Weekly web-design-weekly.com CSS Weekly css-weekly.com JavaScript Weekly javascriptweekly.com

    HTML5 Weekly html5-weekly.com RWD Weekly responsivedesignweekly.com
  79. WHAT ABOUT THAT QUESTION

  80. How do you stay up to date on the latest

    web technology?
  81. “And what is it that you do?” “I work at

    a small web design shop and we’re building a website that sells car parts for old cars. ”
  82. If you’re looking for a few quick wins, there are

    some great newsletters you can subscribe to.
  83. But why do you ask?

  84. THANK YOU @chriscoyier chriscoyier.net