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Measuring UX ROI in Healthcare

Measuring UX ROI in Healthcare

Talk was given at the 5th edition of UXSouthAfrica in CapeTown. It focuses on how designers can start proving UX value to the business bottom line, especially in healthcare.

www.uxsouthafrica.com

Oluwatobi Akindunjoye

November 24, 2018
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  1. What designers say Strategy Information Architecture Usability Testing Design Thinking

    Design Systems Developer Handoff Responsive grids Prototyping User flows Customer Journey Maps Style Guides CSS
  2. What the business hears Strategy Information Architecture Usability Testing Design

    Thinking Design Systems Developer Handoff Responsive grids Prototyping User flows Customer Journey Maps Style Guides CSS Conversion rate Brand reception Development time/cost Revenue Brand loyalty Customer satisfaction Acquisition costs Customer Journey Maps Retention costs Onboarding costs
  3. According to a report by Forrester Research, companies who invest

    in UX can expect to see an ROI of $100 for every $1 invested
  4. How do we know what to track? ━ Business goals/objectives

    ━ Current standing ━ Competitive baseline
  5. My First ROI Case - A travel website that makes

    money from flight bookings, hotel reservations and visa consultancy services.
  6. My First ROI Case - A travel website that makes

    money from flight bookings, hotel reservations and visa consultancy services. - 100 visitors get to the visa interest form daily with 20% completion rate
  7. My First ROI Case - A travel website that makes

    money from flight bookings, hotel reservations and visa consultancy services. - 100 visitors get to the visa interest form daily with 20% completion rate - Assume a 100% conversion rate, and an average profit of $25 per customer, current daily profit = $25 * 20 = $500
  8. My First ROI Case - A travel website that makes

    money from flight bookings, hotel reservations and visa consultancy services. - 100 visitors get to the visa interest form daily with 20% completion rate - Assume a 100% conversion rate, and an average profit of $25 per customer, current daily profit = $25 * 20 = $500 - It took a month and $9,000 to optimize UX to 50% completion rate
  9. My First ROI Case - A travel website that makes

    money from flight bookings, hotel reservations and visa consultancy services. - 100 visitors get to the visa interest form daily with 20% completion rate - Assume a 100% conversion rate, and an average profit of $25 per customer, current daily profit = $25 * 20 = $500 - It took a month and $9,000 to optimize UX to 50% completion rate - Indicators: Average time on field: 41s to 20s, blank rate: 42.9% to 12% and drop off rate: 13.3% to 8%
  10. My First ROI Case - A travel website that makes

    money from flight bookings, hotel reservations and visa consultancy services. - 100 visitors get to the visa interest form daily with 20% completion rate - Assume a 100% conversion rate, and an average profit of $15 per customer, current daily profit = $15 * 20 = $300 - It took a month and $9,000 to optimize UX to 50% completion rate - Indicators: Average time on field: 41s to 20s, blank rate: 42.9% to 12% and drop off rate: 13.3% to 8% - In 20 days you will have made the $9,000. I.e $9000 / $15 * (50-20) = $9000 / $450. Current daily profit = $15 * 50 = $450
  11. The Approach - Set or check objectives - Find the

    bottleneck - Observe opportunities - Decide on metrics and KPI’s - Estimate UX efforts (time, budget, resources) - Calculate how long to recoup investment - Be mindful of only money metrics
  12. Tools Used - Google Analytics to measure bounce rate, conversion

    rate - HotJar for form field analysis - Marketing department for average dollar spend data - YOU
  13. KPI Metrics Conversion rate Number of users or % increase

    Average order value $$$ Page views Number or % increase Calls to support Number or % Training Cost or time Time spent on task Number of minutes Development time Number of minutes, hours or days Error reduction # or %
  14. User experience has an impact, not just on tangible metrics

    like cost and time, but also on user satisfaction and happiness
  15. In healthcare, the ROI conversation has to be larger than

    financial impact—and must include impact on health outcomes
  16. Case Study - Kano Connect Kano Connect is a mobile

    and web based health platform developed by eHealth Africa, with funding from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.
  17. The Approach - Field research and travel to local communities

    to understand current workflows - Calls with health supervisors to understand their confusion around current methods - Working with engineers to understand technical constraints and opportunities - Piloting early prototypes with a handful of health workers - Qualitative monitoring of feedback from support team & BA’s - Quantitative monitoring of data via Google Analytics and HotJar - Iterating and adding features based on feedback
  18. ROI - Kano Connect Redesigned Kano Connect, a data monitoring

    dashboard for health workers. New design saw 12% increase in data submission and 32% decrease in time spent on tasks. 1000+ HEALTH WORKERS reached on a monthly basis 57% REDUCTION in calls for technical support 12% DECREASE in error rates indicating the process is simpler and less time-consuming.
  19. Testimonial “We don’t have a vehicle for supervision. Sometimes, we

    would get to the facilities after work hours and there would be no way to reach the LGA immunization team members. We would need to come back the next day” Ahmad Usman Garba
  20. Case Study - VDD Vaccine Direct Delivery (VDD) is a

    third party logistics service that ensures vaccines and dry goods are delivered on time, at correct doses and in good condition to health facilities at the ward level. Using an application called LoMIS Deliver, eHA plans, schedules and routes health facilities to conform to cycles of delivery.
  21. Case Study - VDD Vaccine Direct Delivery (VDD) is a

    third party logistics service that ensures vaccines and dry goods are delivered on time, at correct doses and in good condition to health facilities at the ward level. Using an application called LoMIS Deliver, eHA plans, schedules and routes health facilities to conform to cycles of delivery. 50% REDUCTION IN stockout rate of Antigens in Sokoto state. 75% REDUCTION IN stockout rate of Antigens in Bauchi state. 12% DECREASE in error rates
  22. Patient Management System Take training from a month to 2

    weeks. Training costs $1000 per person for a month. 500 were to be trained, $500,000 / 2 = $250,000 saved for that particular cycle. Help desk calls drop from 20 to 10 per person in a month. 10* 10 * 500 = $50,000 50% DECREASE IN training time 60% REDUCTION IN help desk calls $300k SAVED per cycle
  23. What metrics can we start measuring in healthcare UX? -

    Patient wait times - Medical staff efficiency - Faster treatment - Improvement in patient experience - Cost reduction?