Save 37% off PRO during our Black Friday Sale! »

N Ways To Be A Better Developer

B272216b76be8aacbfd11fad48196558?s=47 Ivo Jansch
November 12, 2013

N Ways To Be A Better Developer

Delivered as the opening keynote together with @lornajane at the BBC:Develop event in Manchester.

B272216b76be8aacbfd11fad48196558?s=128

Ivo Jansch

November 12, 2013
Tweet

Transcript

  1. Lorna Mitchell ! Ivo Jansch BBC:Develop 12 November 2013

  2. Participate In Communities

  3. Ask Questions But Learn To Fish

  4. ! "Give a man a fish and you feed him

    for a day. Teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime." ! Chinese Proverb
  5. Keep Reading

  6. #linktuesday http://sitepoint.com http://stackoverflow.com http://dzone.com

  7. Learn To Google

  8. Would I be the only one? Broad Search Generalize the

    Problem Minimize Scenario Yes No Found Narrow Search Found Post Get help A Problem Solved
  9. Take It One Step At A Time

  10. Pick a new technology Explore Get Comfortable Master

  11. The Dunning-Kruger Effect

  12. What there is to know What you think you could

    know What you think you know What you know “Seniors” Overestimation Unawareness ‘I know everything’
  13. What there is to know What you think you could

    know What you think you know What you know Actual Seniors Modesty Awareness ‘I know what I don’t know’
  14. Keep Your Hands Dirty

  15. Learn To Speak Manager

  16. Planning Revenue Mindshare Stock Win-Win Paradigm Spin-off Stake- holder Mission

    Eyeballs Profit Monetize CxO KPIs Post Mortem BINGO CHART
  17. None
  18. Reflect

  19. Less = More

  20. “Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to

    add, but when there is nothing left to take away”  ! Antoine de Saint-Exupéry
  21. Conference Speaker Organizer Attendee Event Person Entity better ok bad

  22. Learn Other Languages

  23. ! <?php! ! System.out.print(‘Hello’); ! ?>

  24. Confessional Debugging

  25. Know Your Tools

  26. Passion

  27. Be Healthy

  28. Get Out Of Your Comfort Zone

  29. Conclusion

  30. Lorna Mitchell http://www.lornajane.net @lornajane Ivo Jansch http://www.egeniq.com @ijansch ! !

    ! Get the book: http://nwaysbook.com ! ! ! ! ! The full credits for the pictures in this presentation can be found in the slide deck online.
  31. Resources The following URLS point to relevant information. If you

    liked the presentation, you are going to want to have a look at the following sites: ! • Sleep Well - http://www.theregister.co.uk/2010/11/23/coders_insomnia_mental_hygiene/ 
 On the Be Healthy slide, we talked about how good health improves your development skills. This is an interesting article about recommended sleep hygiene for programmers.. • How To Ask Questions The Smart Way - http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html 
 This article by Eric Raymond goes with the item about asking questions. • ‘Just Google It’ by Carl Vuorinen - http://cvuorinen.net/just-google-it/#/ • The Passionate Programmer - http://pragprog.com/titles/cfcar2/the-passionate-programmer 
 In the ‘Passion’ item, we mentioned a book by the pragmatic programmers. This is the URL for it.
  32. Credits The following pictures were used in this presentation. All

    images are licensed with a creative common license. ! • ‘#27’ by Dwayne Madden - http://www.flickr.com/photos/dj-dwayne/4553167357/ • ‘This Way’ by Steve Snodgrass - http://www.flickr.com/photos/stevensnodgrass/4906011803/ • ‘I don’t want to be your ...’ by Josh Pesavento - http://www.flickr.com/photos/pezz/3785769013/ • ‘Matt Dillon kicks off ...’ by Yodel Anecdotal - http://www.flickr.com/photos/yodelanecdotal/499434961/ • ‘Still Human’ by Quinn Dombrowski - http://www.flickr.com/photos/quinnanya/3821448668/ • ‘Good Friends’ by Juliana Coutinho - http://www.flickr.com/photos/ngmmemuda/4166182931/ • ‘TAM London Audience’ by Matt Brown - http://www.flickr.com/photos/londonmatt/3977320759/ • ‘Crowd in DPC’ by Juozas Kaziukenas - http://www.flickr.com/photos/juokaz/4702578495/ • ‘The Bridge’ by Ian Carroll - http://www.flickr.com/photos/iancarroll/3050791327/ • ‘Bingo Night’ by Robert Banh - http://www.flickr.com/photos/robertbanh/3319821124/ • Untitled by Kristina Sohappy - http://www.flickr.com/photos/kristina-sohappy/4242102266/ • ‘ZendCon Tutorial Day’ by Andries Seutens - http://www.flickr.com/photos/andriesss/4027902414/ • ‘Google Logo in Building43’ by Robert Scoble - http://www.flickr.com/photos/scobleizer/4249731778/ • ‘Tiffus teaching Hoonan how to fish by Brett Kelly - http://www.flickr.com/photos/inkedmn/758241963/ • ‘Programming related books at home, RHS’ by Michael Fogus - http://www.flickr.com/photos/fogus/2629211069/ • ‘Darts of Pleasure’ by Melissa Gray - http://www.flickr.com/photos/melissagray/4002863212/ • ‘One step at a time’ by Fernando de Sousa - http://www.flickr.com/photos/fernando/150271931/ • ‘War and Peace Show’ by Growl Roar - http://www.flickr.com/photos/growlroar/4821487849/ • ‘Less is more? More than what?’ by Theilr - http://www.flickr.com/photos/theilr/2200873034/ • ‘Spaghetti’ by Cyclonebill - http://www.flickr.com/photos/cyclonebill/2223412838/ • ‘Ian Barber’ by Stuart Herbert - http://www.flickr.com/photos/stuartherbert/6231988180 

  33. Credits The following pictures were used in this presentation. All

    images are licensed with a creative common license. ! • Untitled by Eduard Orbitron - http://www.flickr.com/photos/eduardorbitron/5187761681/ • ‘Riverside and I-35’ by Dustin Coates - http://www.flickr.com/photos/dustinc/577521134/ • ‘Drawer Organizers’ by Rubbermaid Products - http://www.flickr.com/photos/rubbermaid/4545308035/ • ‘Complicated Sign’ by Redvers - http://www.flickr.com/photos/redvers/1249510693/ • ‘Library Refresh’ by Mike McCune - http://www.flickr.com/photos/mccun934/5000045252/ • ‘The requisite startup foosball table’ by Quami77 - http://www.flickr.com/photos/yakshaving/3795071232/ • ‘Haystack’ by Fod Tzellos - http://www.flickr.com/photos/fod/237453417/ • ‘Red Lion Denver Southeast Fitness Center’ by Red Lion - http://www.flickr.com/photos/43536733@N03/4009413538/ • ‘Fire’ by Matthew Venn - http://www.flickr.com/photos/matthewvenn/366986755/ • ‘Main conference room’ by Felix de Vliegher - http://www.flickr.com/photos/felixdv/2579551939/ • ‘Tools’ by ZZPza - http://www.flickr.com/photos/89618128@N00/3269784239 • ‘Inflatable linux penguin’ by PinkMoose - http://www.flickr.com/photos/pinkmoose/3283397547 ! We have used other materials, such as the Dilbert and XKCD comics and the Yoda picture from Star Wars, under the assumptions that embedding them is fair use; they are copyrighted by their respective owners. Sources: ! • http://www.dilbert.com • http://www.xkcd.org