Upgrade to Pro — share decks privately, control downloads, hide ads and more …

Annual Discussion with openSUSE Board

Annual Discussion with openSUSE Board

The openSUSE Board (Richard Brown, Gertjan Lettink, Christian Boltz, Sarah Julia Kriesch, Ana María Martínez Gómez and Simon Lees) will present the outcome of their last F2F meeting, where they started driving its collective agenda for the next year.

After that, everybody is welcome to ask questions, give feedback, make suggestions and present ideas.

Richard Brown

May 27, 2018

More Decks by Richard Brown

Other Decks in Programming


  1. The Board
    [email protected]
    Annual Blah Blah Blah

    View full-size slide

  2. The Board
    [email protected]
    Annual Discussion with
    openSUSE Board

    View full-size slide

  3. openSUSE Board
    “Leads” the overall Project

    Act as a central point of contact

    Helps resolve conflicts

    Facilitate decision making processes where needed

    Communicates community interests to SUSE (and visa versa)

    Initiates discussions about new project-wide initiatives

    View full-size slide

  4. Communication with the Board

    Talk to us at [email protected]

    Add items to our agenda
    – https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE_talk:Board_meetings

    Public discussions welcome on
    [email protected]

    View full-size slide

  5. Wiki Changes

    Restructured Board information

    Updated https://en.opensuse.org/openSUSE:Board

    Board Meetings

    Board Elections & Membership – Work in Progress

    New Theme

    We are adding an open license to news.opensuse.org

    View full-size slide

  6. Ambassadors/Advocates

    Program was effectively defunct

    Anybody can represent openSUSE


    View full-size slide

  7. Mailinglists

    New list [email protected]

    Dedicated support mailinglist

    Reducing noise on opensuse-factory@
    – “bugzilla-first”
    – opensuse-support@ for “I’m not sure if this is a bug” problems

    View full-size slide

  8. Feature Requests

    openFATE is shutting down

    Wasn’t actively being used by our developers

    Report directly to upstream (via Bugzilla, GitHub, etc)

    Work underway to document correct location for various
    openSUSE projects & components

    View full-size slide

  9. Private Bugs

    SLE Bugs are private by default
    – This is a problem when we work together
    – We work together a lot

    Temporary Solution – mail [email protected]

    Long Term – SUSE are committed to finding a solution that
    works, without sharing customer data

    View full-size slide

  10. Friends of openSUSE
    openSUSE sponsors many different projects and conferences we
    would like to make this more obvious, if you know of other
    examples please tell us

    View full-size slide

  11. Matrix

    Decentralised open source chat / messaging service

    Can be integrated with IRC and other protocols

    We are considering adding a server to supplement our existing
    chat options

    What do you think?

    View full-size slide

  12. Service Packs

    Upgrading is one of the biggest concerns for inexperienced

    openSUSE has an amazingly smooth upgrade path

    To help with preconceptions about upgrades, what about
    Leap 15 SP1 rather than Leap 15.1?

    View full-size slide

  13. Conference Organisation

    The openSUSE Asia community is an exceptional example of how to manage
    organising conferences

    They have a committee responsible for
    – The calls for locations and papers
    – Assisting the local organisation team
    – Finding sponsors

    We would like to create one for the openSUSE Conference

    If you’d like to be involved get in contact with the board

    View full-size slide

  14. Conference feedback

    View full-size slide

  15. Join Us at www.opensuse.org

    View full-size slide

  16. Agenda

    Board intro 4 RICHARD 5 EVERYONE

    Face to Face Meeting 6-7 RICHARD

    Communication with the Board 8 ANA

    Wiki changes, official pages, theme change 9 ANA

    Ambassadors/Advocates winddown 10 SIMON

    Mailinglists – opensuse-support@ / Factory policy 11 SIMON

    openFATE/Feature Requests 12 SARAH

    Studio source (Maybe) RICHARD

    Private Bugs 13 CHRISTIAN

    Projects 14 ANA

    Partners 15 ANA

    Matrix 16 GERTJAN

    Service Packs 17 GERTJAN

    Conference Location/Committee SIMON

    Conference Feedback for next meeting ANA

    View full-size slide

  17. License
    This slide deck is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International license.
    It can be shared and adapted for any purpose (even commercially) as long as Attribution is given and any
    derivative work is distributed under the same license.
    Details can be found at https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/
    General Disclaimer
    This document is not to be construed as a promise by any participating organisation to develop, deliver, or
    market a product. It is not a commitment to deliver any material, code, or functionality, and should not be
    relied upon in making purchasing decisions. openSUSE makes no representations or warranties with respect
    to the contents of this document, and specifically disclaims any express or implied warranties of
    merchantability or fitness for any particular purpose. The development, release, and timing of features or
    functionality described for openSUSE products remains at the sole discretion of openSUSE. Further,
    openSUSE reserves the right to revise this document and to make changes to its content, at any time,
    without obligation to notify any person or entity of such revisions or changes. All openSUSE marks
    referenced in this presentation are trademarks or registered trademarks of SUSE LLC, in the United States
    and other countries. All third-party trademarks are the property of their respective owners.
    Richard Brown
    [email protected]
    Design & Inspiration
    openSUSE Design Team

    View full-size slide