$30 off During Our Annual Pro Sale. View Details »

Scaling and Co-ordinating WordPress

Scaling and Co-ordinating WordPress

Presented to UK WordUp Whitehall 2010

An overview for a non-technical audience of how to scale WordPress, and how to coordinate development using version control. As always, the slides are only part of the presentation.

Simon Wheatley

October 15, 2010
Tweet

More Decks by Simon Wheatley

Other Decks in Programming

Transcript

  1. Scaling WordPress, Co-ordinating Code Simon Wheatley, @simonwheatley

  2. © Rob Shenk - http://www.flickr.com/photos/rcsj/400758302/sizes/l/in/photostream/

  3. © Christian Payne - http://www.flickr.com/photos/christianpayne/3524859632/in/photostream/

  4. None
  5. © @hwayoungjung - http://www.flickr.com/photos/hwayoungjung/3742229597/

  6. None
  7. Coordination & Control © H.Powers - http://www.flickr.com/photos/melisande-origami/108813447/sizes/l/

  8. Traffic at scale © Gopal Vijayaraghavan - http://www.flickr.com/photos/t3rmin4t0r/3947963283/in/photostream/

  9. © Steve Harwood - http://www.flickr.com/photos/captkodak/272746539/in/photostream/ What is load?

  10. © Hobvias Sudoneighm - http://www.flickr.com/photos/striatic/3834431/ Anatomy of a request

  11. © Troy Holden - http://www.flickr.com/photos/troyholden/4114564467/in/photostream/ Data

  12. Assembly © Federico Casares - http://www.flickr.com/photos/solofotones/1839531915/

  13. © Pyno Moscato - http://www.flickr.com/photos/pinomoscato/3992211669/ Despatch

  14. © Andrew Becraft - http://www.flickr.com/photos/dunechaser/2816064611/ Caching

  15. © Thomas Hawk - http://www.flickr.com/photos/thomashawk/2442371176/ Different people, different needs

  16. © Mo Riza - http://www.flickr.com/photos/moriza/96724309/in/photostream/ Reading

  17. © Sean Dreilinger - http://www.flickr.com/photos/seandreilinger/2326448445/in/photostream/ Interaction

  18. © Mike McCune - http://www.flickr.com/photos/mccun934/3261249676/ Architecture

  19. Data Server App Server App Server L.B

  20. Data Server App Server App Server L.B App Server

  21. © Garrett Coakley - http://www.flickr.com/photos/garrettc/2172850095/ Testing

  22. © Don Solo - http://www.flickr.com/photos/donsolo/2886355241/ Siege

  23. Interaction © Sean Dreilinger - http://www.flickr.com/photos/seandreilinger/2326448445/in/photostream/

  24. Reading © Mo Riza - http://www.flickr.com/photos/moriza/96724309/in/photostream/

  25. Failure © Jimmie - http://www.flickr.com/photos/jimmiehomeschoolmom/2810673350/in/photostream/

  26. © Joseph Robertson - http://www.flickr.com/photos/josephrobertson/59407804/ Configuration

  27. Success © Garrett & Kitty Wilkin - http://www.flickr.com/photos/gareandkitty/338059022/in/photostream/

  28. Coordination & Control © H.Powers - http://www.flickr.com/photos/melisande-origami/108813447/sizes/l/

  29. Version Control © KayVee.INC - http://www.flickr.com/photos/kayveeinc/3203353278/

  30. None
  31. None
  32. None
  33. None
  34. None
  35. Questions? Simon Wheatley, @simonwheatley

  36. © Evan Moss - http://www.flickr.com/photos/mightymoss/4163027317/in/photostream/